Brandy Darkrose's Blog

Time is of the Essence

Initial Blender Set Up

with one comment

Well I said I was going to have a hair tutorial out soon weeks ago. As you can see no hair tutorial. It has been sitting in my post to publish and I just can’t bring myself to publish it. Why? Well this is old school how to do hair. I mean like pre 2007 for Second Life. I think that statement pretty much sums up right there why I can’t publish it yet. I may publish it further down the road just so if anyone that is looking to do the old school hair method, they can. But really, today’s hair is about sculpts. That being said, I am redesigning this section on hair. My goal when I was doing this project was to show current how to times to prove that really, anyone can do it. Really, sorry but the designer in me cringes each time I hover the publish button on that hair tutorial.

I am going to be spending the next few weeks working on introductions to Blender. My hope is that within a months time I can then take the hair pieces I have taught in the Blender workshops and show at the very end how to bring them all together.

Now that being said…go get Blender. It is free and well worth using. http://www.blender.org/
I updated to the current versions of software that is out and downloaded the 2.49b. Make sure when you go to download you hit the installer for your computer version. If you are unsure if you are a 32/64bit, go to the start menu and right click on computer, then hit properties. It will be listed under system type.

You will also need Python. http://www.python.org/download/ – Download the version that blender says to get on Blender’s download page.

After you get that, you will need to get an add on for it so that you can sculpt specifically for second life. It is called Primstar. You can get it here: http://www.dominodesigns.info/project/primstar

After you download primstar, you are going to want to extract it to: /Program Files/Blender Foundation/Blender/.blender/scripts If that folder does not exist you may need to uninstall and reinstall Blender.

It can be a complete pain in the butt, but what you should see when you open up Blender to launch are two Blender tabs. Just go straight for the map looking one window. You should be able to see under Add >Mesh >Sculpt Mesh. (Might also pop up with second life reference in there) If you don’t then something isn’t right.

Sadly when it comes to Primstar installation, I have had several issues. I have decided it is probably based on user error of not paying attention to details of what to get and where. If you have any questions or something isn’t working as you install, please comment here. I will help. I am going to try and write up a more detailed description of what to do this week as well, while updating my version of Blender.

Stay tuned.

Written by brandydarkrose

April 18, 2010 at 12:41 pm

Posted in Babbles, Tutorial

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heewoo 🙂 Very cooool project !
    If that folder where you want to put primstar isn’t in /Program Files/…, it could be in /Application Data/…
    (depending on your settings during setup)

    Dakotah Yue

    April 19, 2010 at 3:50 pm


Leave a Reply

